December 2022 Art Dump

I can’t believe how fast this holiday season flew by! It felt like I barely had time to prepare for Christmas before it was over, and now we’re only hours away from starting another new year… the last twelve months have felt like a nonstop whirlwind, to say the least. To celebrate making it through 2022, I wanted to share the projects I was working on as this year drew to a close:

As usual, I made an illustrated design for this year’s holiday cards, and it quickly turned out to be one of my favorites! I really wanted clean, bold lines, but these little wrens wanted to stay soft and sketchy. I also ended up investing in a corner punch, which gave my home-printed cards rounded corners that perfectly complemented my artwork. These were a big hit when I sent them out with gifts!

Another holiday tradition I continued this year was to crochet these mini stockings, which everyone on my gift list loved – they’re the perfect size for gift cards, candy, or just to hang up as a cute decoration! I usually only make one style, but this year I was trying to use up some old yarn and ended up making a couple of different versions. These little stockings really do look good in just about every color, and they only take about three hours to make from start to finish! I wrote a post several years ago about how I make these, but if you want to stitch your own, click here to learn how.

I spent most of December consumed by holiday projects, but somehow still found time to play with my new iPad quite a bit. I ended up making these three pieces when I was just messing around, but had way more fun than expected just playing with colors. These will all be on my Redbubble soon, which is exciting because I just know they’ll look perfect on phone cases. Until then, get in the comments and let me know which version is your favorite!


I still can’t believe how quickly 2022 went by, and now we’re on the cusp of a brand new year! I had a lot of ups and downs but ultimately I’m really proud of how much more art I made this year than in previous years, and I’m looking forward to making even more in the coming months. Stay tuned for more, and happy holidays, everyone!


Leave a comment