Muse of the Month: Lore

Missing the Halloween season already? Still craving something creepy? I’ve got you covered with November’s Muse of the Month, which is a deliciously spooky podcast called Lore!

motm_lore

Written, produced, and hosted by author Aaron Mahnke, Lore examines the horrors that dwell, mostly forgotten, in the darkest corners of human history. Each half-hour episode proves that fact can absolutely be scarier than fiction, and that many of our fears are actually based – at least somewhat – in truth and reason. Lore reminds us that our ancestors often had very, very good cause to fear things like the dark, the unknown, and, at times, each other.

Seriously, guys. I’ve only just started listening to the podcast, and I am hooked. Lore is a combination of two of my favorite things: weird historical events and horror stories. From serial killers to superstition, Lore explores the roots of our fears and nightmares, and everything from Mahnke’s mellow, matter-of-fact storytelling style to the atmospheric background music makes every spoken word feel eerily intimate. I powered through the first dozen or so episodes while working on part of my Halloween costume, feeling like I was sitting next to a campfire listening to ghost stories rather than at my kitchen table with paint seeping under my fingernails.

Whether or not you believe the eyewitness reports of ghosts, elves, or werewolves, the stories themselves are still fascinating – if brief – accounts of real people, places, cultures, and occurrences from across history and around the world. As someone who loves to learn, that’s another reason I can’t stop listening to Lore… you can enjoy it even if you don’t believe in the supernatural, so long as you have an appreciation for history and horror.

I’d advise sensitive individuals to listen at their own discretion, as the content of the podcast can sometimes be gruesome or otherwise disturbing in nature; Mahnke doesn’t get too explicit when describing the grotesque, but it’s hard to sugarcoat your subject matter when you’re talking about lobotomies or methods of torture. If you’re like me, however, and you enjoy learning about the creepy parts of history that your teachers skipped over in class, I really can’t recommend Lore highly enough.

Interested in giving Lore a listen? Click here for more information about the podcast and how to download episodes.


Leave a comment