Bone update

This post is about bone-cleaning and may contain text and photos that some readers might find disturbing. All content is hidden under the link. Continue at your own discretion!


More slow yet steady progress on my new deer bones! When I checked them on Sunday, I saw that this round of dirty water was looking much clearer…

…and that all but a small amount of the most stubborn fats and connective tissues had dissolved.

Since the bones with the most fatty tissues on them still smelled the worst, I’m hoping that two weeks of macerating should help get rid of any remaining tissue that hasn’t already been absorbed by the bones, and that I can start this batch in a degreasing bath when I get home. As the remaining tissues seem to be fat and grease as opposed to flesh, I think degreasing them might help more than just macerating, but I’ll know for sure later in the month!

I’m also thinking of looking for a new toothbrush – or some other kind of cleaning brush – with firmer bristles. Soft bristles might be good for cleaning teeth and removing loose bits of animal tissue, but they’re not as good for scrubbing off the white filmy stuff you can see in the photos above, which is surprisingly difficult to remove. At the same time, I want to avoid using something with really rough bristles so my bones don’t get scratched or damaged while I’m cleaning them. If you have any ideas or recommendations, feel free to comment below!

Leave a Reply

