Drawing commission

A few weeks ago, one of my friends sent me a message asking if I’d be interested in helping a friend of his, who was trying to find an artist to draw her nude. This was the first request for a nude portrait I’d ever gotten, and although it’d been a while since I’d drawn from life, I was excited to give it a try, and we arranged to meet in person.

While we sat at a local coffee shop waiting for our drinks to cool, she told me that the idea had come to her when she’d been visiting a client’s house and had seen a nude drawing of the client hanging on a bedroom wall. At first, the concept had seemed strange to her, but, even after leaving the house, she found she couldn’t stop thinking about it. And the more she thought about it, the more she realized that she actually really liked the idea of having a piece of artwork like that. After all, how many people can say that they have a hand-drawn portrait of themselves?

So after a bit of planning and practicing, it’s officially crossed off of her bucket list as of last week!

While I feel I did pretty well for a three-hour drawing, I’m my own biggest critic when it comes to pieces like this. I’m not 100% pleased with every inch of it, but I learned a lot, had a bunch of fun helping my client with her project, and – most importantly – she was very happy with the finished piece!

Above all, I was honestly just thrilled and honored to have been a part of this project, and to help make my client’s dream a reality. Even if it doesn’t feel like my best drawing ever, I am satisfied with the end result, and I feel really proud of the progress I’ve made as an artist during this endeavor.

4 thoughts on “Drawing commission

Leave a Reply

