New art for a special announcement

I’ll be honest, readers… I never daydreamed about “my big day.” I never planned out decorations, color schemes, or dresses as a little kid, and frankly, the idea of being the center of attention at a big ceremony just makes my stomach knot with anxiety. And even though Jesse and I had always agreed that we’d be just as happy to remain unmarried, we recently realized that, for a number of reasons, it made more sense for us to get hitched than not.

So, I’m sure you can guess what my announcement is… we eloped!

If I’m honest, though, I have to say that I was much more excited to design the artwork for the announcements than I was for the actual event:

marriage announcements1.jpg

I’m always looking for the chance to flex my art muscles, and I’ve been wanting to try my hand at lettering, so designing some fancy announcements seemed like the perfect opportunity. I feel like I did a good job for someone who never gravitated towards graphic design…

marriage announcements2

…plus, they looked so good once I got them printed, cut, and folded! I was really pleased to send these out to my friends and family. The hardest part was having to wait to post about the art until after the announcements were mailed out!

I am really fond of the design, so I may end up modifying it and uploading it to Redbubble at some point. Let me know what you think in the comments!

Leave a Reply

