Raccoon skull – second degreasing

This post is about bone-cleaning and may contain text and photos that some readers might find disturbing. All content is hidden under the link. Continue at your own discretion!


After a few days’ mulling it over, I decided to try degreasing my raccoon skull again. Since further degreasing will be impossible once I’ve whitened the skull, I want to see if I can lift out any more discoloration before I move on to the next step.

raccoon skull redegreasing.jpg

So, it’s back in the dish soap bath for this specimen! I’m thinking of leaving it for at least another twelve weeks – probably more – seeing as three months wasn’t quite long enough to remove that really stubborn discoloration along the sagittal crest. Waiting is always the hardest part of this step!

One thought on “Raccoon skull – second degreasing

Leave a Reply

