Muse of the Month: Harry Potter

In honor of both a life-long love of magic and enchanted worlds, and the impending release of Harry Potter and the Cursed Child, July’s Muse of the Month is Harry Potter!

I’ve been an avid reader for as long as I can remember, and when the very first Harry Potter book hit American shelves just before I turned eight, my mom and I read it out loud together. Since then, we’ve read the other six books together as well, and I’ve personally read and reread every book in the series at least once (though Prisoner of Azkaban is probably still my favorite). Growing up, the world of Harry Potter was, to me, one of those rare places that you enter through the pages of a book and never really leave… I knew the wizarding world so well that it became almost like a second home. I wrote stories and created artwork of my favorite characters, collected the clothes, toys, and jewelry, and attended movies and release parties for the books in costume. To say that Harry Potter had an impact on my young life would be putting it lightly.

I know that the books and movies aren’t perfect, and while I agree with some of the criticisms concerning the series, Harry’s world will always remain in a special place in my heart. It’s a place that, for almost twenty years, has fed my imagination and creativity, and has inspired me to write, draw, and dream about other worlds. For any imperfections it may have, Harry Potter has always been – and will always be – a magical part of my life.

For these reasons, I’ve decided to make July Harry Potter month here on my blog! In anticipation of the release Harry Potter and the Cursed Child on July 31st, I’m going to be rereading all of the books one more time, creating some Harry Potter-themed designs for Redbubble and Society6, and making myself a new wand and a costume to wear to the release party for the book. And if Harry Potter isn’t really your thing, don’t worry! I’ll still be posting updates about other projects I’m working on this month, too.


Have a question about Harry Potter? Want to know my thoughts about something specific from the series? Go ahead and leave a comment on this post… I love chatting with fellow fans!

2 thoughts on “Muse of the Month: Harry Potter

  1. I’ll start you off with the kind of question everybody asks first: who is your favorite character from Harry Potter?

    Like

    1. That’s a tough one! Years ago I’d have said Hermione, as I related to her the most growing up, but now I’d say it’s probably a tie between Ginny and Hagrid… though I did feel that Ginny’s character in the movies fell a little flat in comparison to what she was like in the book.

      And who doesn’t love Hagrid?

      Like

Leave a Reply

