First week of work

My new job has had me even busier than I thought I would be… so busy, I barely had time to take photos and write this post!

All week, I’ve been working with a bunch of artists, builders, and welders to help create set pieces for a modern iteration of the musical South Pacific. My job has consisted mostly of helping with designing and painting drops, which are lengths of painted cloth that can hang above, behind, and/or on either side of the stage to help set the scene.

first week of work1.jpg

Image sourced from the Wikipedia article on Theater drapes and stage curtains.

Since South Pacific takes place in – surprise! – the south Pacific, the drops I’ve been working on are meant to look like a tropical jungle, and are made to hang above and on both sides of the stage. We have a total of three drops to paint, so there’s still a ton of work left to do, but it’s been really fun to work on something so completely new and different. So far this week, we’ve mostly been getting our painting techniques figured out and making stamps to help add texture to the background.

first week of work2

A lot of work went into just prepping our area for painting… first our carpenters laid down and secured two layers of particle board, which we then covered with paper before stapling our drop in place. The drop needs to be secured so it can’t be moved while the paint is drying, and so that the paint doesn’t cause the fabric to warp and become distorted.

first week of work3

first week of work4

After our drop was down, we got to work laying down paint, making stamps, and generally figuring out how to make our drop look like it’s part of a jungle scene.

first week of work5

By the end of the day on Thursday, we’d gotten our first drop pre-painted, laid out where the bigger pieces of foliage are going to be, and gotten all of our stamping done. Not bad for a week’s work!

Prior to this, my only experience painting large-scale had been the occasional mural work I’d done in the past, but the people I’m working with are supportive, easygoing, and have great senses of humor, which has really helped me feel like I’m part of the team. And even though the combination of work and commute doesn’t leave me with much spare time, I’m having a lot of fun and am really looking forward to the next couple weeks!

That about covers what I’ve been up to this past week. I’ll probably make another post next weekend with more photos of what I’ve been working on, so keep an eye out for more updates. With my busy schedule, I’m not sure yet when I’ll get back to posting about my own art, but I should be back with more regular updates by the end of the month.


Edit: Read about my second week of work here!

3 thoughts on “First week of work

Leave a Reply

