Sunsets through a new lens

I’d been so busy for the past week that I almost neglected to share some very exciting news: I finally saved up enough to buy my very own DSLR camera!

Since I’ve been freelancing for over a year now and haven’t had the luxury of a steady income, reaching this goal was a very big deal for me. I’ve wanted my own camera for quite a while now, and so far it’s working beautifully… and it’s definitely a huge upgrade from my iPhone camera. I haven’t used a DSLR since college, so I’m still in the process of relearning when and how to adjust the f-stop and ISO and all that, but finally having a camera that will let me take high-quality photos is so exciting that I don’t mind at all!

I’m thinking of writing up a post reviewing the camera after I get the chance to use it a bit more, but until then, here are some photos I took last Friday. I managed to catch the sun just before it vanished completely, and only minutes before it started pouring rain. Again, the difference between my iPhone camera and the DSLR is enormous… I barely had to do any editing to the shots I took with the DSLR by comparison. I can’t wait to take even more photos!

Click on each collage to see the full-size images.

Leave a Reply

