Whitened lamb skulls

This post is about bone-cleaning and may contain text and photos that some readers might find disturbing. All content is hidden under the link. Continue at your own discretion!


I finally got my two lamb skulls out of the peroxide, rinsed, and dried off! The smaller one still has a small amount of discoloration near the left eye socket (visible in the photo below), but otherwise they whitened up pretty nicely. I’ll post more photos when I get done whitening the rest of this batch.

lamb skulls.jpg

Unfortunately, it might be a while before I can start whitening that raccoon skull I started cleaning a few weeks back… it’s still pretty discolored, despite spending an afternoon in a water and soap solution, so I decided to keep it in a degreasing bath for the next two weeks to see if there’s any improvement. I’m really hoping the extra time will help lighten it, but I guess we’ll know for sure in a couple of weeks. Fingers crossed!

raccoon skull degreasing.jpg

2 thoughts on “Whitened lamb skulls

  1. Hi Katy, how old were the lambs? I’m hopefully getting a six week old lamb but I’m not sure whether the bones will have fused enough to keep them together!

    Like

    1. Hi Willow! The lady I got them from said they were about three or four months old, so unfortunately I don’t know from experience whether a six-week-old lamb skull would be fused. If you begin the cleaning process and it turns out the skull isn’t fused, you can always use clear-drying glue to put it back together once you’re done.

      Hope this helped!

      Like

Leave a Reply

