Whitening some bones

This post is about bone-cleaning and may contain text and photos that some readers might find disturbing. All content is hidden under the link. Continue at your own discretion!


I’ve been feeling a bit under the weather for the past week or so, which unfortunately means that I haven’t had much time to work on commissions or side projects until today. So while I get my other projects organized, here’s an update on my bones!

raccoon skull_dry

Here’s my raccoon skull after being cleaned and air dried, though it still looks pretty discolored. I did some research online and found that this could mean that the skull has absorbed a lot of grease (soft tissue), and degreasing involves soaking the skull in a bath of warm water and Dawn dish soap for at least a few hours… sometimes up to days or weeks, or even months, depending on how much the bone has absorbed.

So, I’m leaving the raccoon skull to sit in a dish soap bath for the afternoon to see what happens, and I also started a peroxide soak for one of the lamb skulls I posted about a couple of weeks ago. 

raccoon skull_dry2

More on these skulls in the next week or so!

One thought on “Whitening some bones

Leave a Reply

