First bones of 2016

This post is about bone-cleaning and may contain text and photos that some readers might find disturbing. All content is hidden under the link. Continue at your own discretion!


I can tell it’s spring when my friends start saving animal skulls for me!

pre-c_lamb skulls1

Nothing too exciting in this batch – just some partial lamb skulls and a leg bone. Since I already have some more intact specimens from last year, I may end up trading them with other collectors or selling them on Etsy after I get them cleaned and whitened.

I spent yesterday afternoon rinsing them and letting them soak out in the garage. I’ll post more photos when they’re clean!

pre-c_lamb skulls2

 

3 thoughts on “First bones of 2016

  1. Interesting! What do you soak them in? And what do you do with them after? I suddenly am remembering finding a rat skull in our backyard when I was a kid and being EXTREMELY disappointed when my mom wouldn’t let me keep it. Now I’m an Anth major and I get to look at bones all the time lol

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I soak all the bones I get in hot water and add a little biological washing powder to help remove any remaining organic matter. After they’re clean (which can often mean soaking them more than once), I whiten them with peroxide. Then they’re ready to either go on display in the house, or be given/traded away to friends.

      I was always one of those “weird kids” who liked poking around for rocks and gross stuff out in the woods, so I totally understand the disappointment of being told I wasn’t allowed to keep that stuff in the house, haha. I’m no expert on bones, but I’ve always been fascinated by them!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

