Adventures with shrink film

So, I decided to do something new for some of the gifts I’m making this year, and am trying out shrink film. Those of you who were born in the 90s, as I was, probably remember seeing commercials for Shrinky Dinks, and this is basically the same stuff!

To avoid spoiling anyone’s Christmas presents, I did an example piece using some of my Inktober artwork. I was thinking of doing a tutorial post at some point to show off how I made it, but if I do, I’ll save it for sometime when I’m not inundated with Christmas projects.

Until then, here are some of the in-progress photos! I really like how cute it turned out. I can’t wait to use it on our fridge!

shrinky dink_collage2
Before and after baking!

shrinky dink_collage4
Gluing the magnet on the back and applying a protective coat of Mod Podge to keep the ink from smearing

shrinky dink_collage5
Final magnet, ready to hold up photos, to do lists, and everything else!

One thought on “Adventures with shrink film

Leave a Reply

