Crochet surprise!

totoro3I couldn’t post about this beforehand, since it was a surprise, but now I can finally reveal one of the secret projects I’ve been working on… I made a cute amigurumi Totoro doll for my mom for her birthday!

totoro diptych2I got the idea from the needle felt Totoro she made me last Christmas, so a couple of weeks ago I got on the internet and started looking for patterns. The tutorial I found was SUPER helpful, which I needed, since this is the first amigurumi I’ve ever made. You can find it here, along with a link to a step-by-step Youtube video tutorial. The video is great for beginner-level crocheters, as Ms. Ojala speaks clearly and slowly and shows you exactly how to crochet the pattern from start to finish. I made a couple of artistic changes (like using doll eyes instead of felt circles, and adding extra markings to the tummy piece) but it still only took me a day or two to crochet this little guy, and I’m so pleased with how he turned out! And, most importantly, my mom loved him, too.

(Plus, look how fast he made friends with my felted Totoro up on the shelf! What a cutie.)

Leave a Reply

