The last batch

This post is about bone-cleaning and may contain text and photos that some readers might find disturbing. All content is hidden under the link. Continue at your own discretion!


pp_cat skull1I just pulled the cat skull out of the peroxide, and I gotta say I’m pretty happy with it! It needs to sit and dry for a few days before I can bring it inside, but I’m incredibly pleased with how it turned out. I guess I’m going to have to figure out how to put the jaw back together, since it ended up coming apart even though I was doing my best to be gentle with it… seems like it split apart along a natural seam rather than just breaking, so I’m guessing it’s more to do with how the jaw is built than how careful I was during the cleaning process. I am a little disappointed that it didn’t stay in one piece since it won’t look quite as nice when I go to display it, but maybe I can glue it back together or something eventually.
pp_cat skull2

(That said, I’m thinking I need to find a good, well-lit display case for all of my bones, instead of just lining them up on the bookshelf in the living room. I’ll have to look into that.)

p_sheep skullAnyway, since I ended up with a good amount of viable peroxide after I rinsed off the cat skull, I decided to go ahead and use it to whiten the rest of my bones, including the sheep skull (which was the first bone I ever got). Apologies for the boring photo… the process isn’t very exciting to photograph. I have this last batch in a snap-top plastic container that’s tilted to one side, so that I don’t have to use as much peroxide to submerge everything. I’m really excited to be finished with all of the bones I have, but I feel like I’m going to miss this project during the winter months.

Since I’m flying out to Arizona next week to visit my parents, though (more on this later), I’ll definitely be on the lookout for stuff out there, especially since my mom offered to hike around and help me look. I’d love to find a piece from a javelina or some other cool animal that you wouldn’t see around Illinois. Fingers crossed I find something cool while I’m gone!

Leave a Reply

