Skull whitening – results

This post is about bone-cleaning and may contain text and photos that some readers might find disturbing. All content is hidden under the link. Continue at your own discretion!


I almost waited until tomorrow to post about this, but after checking on my bones around pp_vertebrae dry11pm I was too excited and couldn’t resist writing a post right away.

First off, my first ever batch of whitened bones is finally completely dry, and they look even pre-p_pelvisbetter than I’d hoped! Letting them dry for a few days meant that the remaining “discolored” areas disappeared, since that was caused just from being wet. Next up in the peroxide bath is a jawbone and the mystery pelvis, along with what I think is a scapula (all from sheep, except the pelvis). The pelvis cleaned up pretty nicely, as you can see from the photo on the right.

lamb skull diptychFinally, the piece I was most excited for: the sheep skull! I tried to be gentle rinsing off the peroxide, but even so a small, super-thin piece of bone from the nasal cavity ended up breaking off. Looking at it now, it’s hard to tell where, so I’m not too bothered by it. Mostly I’m just pleased with how well it seemed to do in the peroxide.

I don’t know if any of my readers know much about animal bones (and I’m going to hold off on research until afterlamb skull dentition I get some sleep), but based on the molars – which are circled in the photo on the right – I’m guessing that this skull belonged to a lamb or an adolescent sheep? It seems like some of the teeth are covered by bone, as though they hadn’t had a chance to grow in yet, and the skull seems slightly smaller than the other one I have (seen here). Feel free to comment if you have any info.

More photos to come when the pelvis and jawbone come out of the peroxide!

Leave a Reply

